Dashboard concepts

Dashboards, tiles and insights

A DSS project contains multiple dashboards. Each dashboard is made of multiple slides. On each slide, you put tiles.

There are two kinds of tiles:

  • “Simple” tiles (static text, image, embedded page)
  • “Insight” tiles. Each of this tiles displays a single insight.

An insight is a piece of information that can be shared on a dashboard. There are many kinds of insights:

Each insight lives independently from dashboards and can be attached on multiple dashboards. By default, DSS always creates new insights when adding something to the dashboard, but you can also choose to reattach an existing insight.

Most insights reference DSS objects:

  • A dataset table references a dataset
  • A chart references a dataset
  • A machine learning model report references the machine learning model
  • A DSS metric insights references a dataset, model or folder

Security is carried by the referenced objects, through the Dashboard authorizations mechanism. In other words, if a dataset is dashboard-authorized, then the dashboard-only users of the project will be able to create dataset table, charts and comments insights based on this dataset.

Insights live independently from their referenced objects. In most cases, modifying anything on the insight will either be impossible, or will not reflect in the original object.

When you are on the dashboard, you can go to a full-size view of the insight by clicking on the Go button

../_images/tile-go-to-insight.png

Permissions

Owners and moderators

Each dashboard (and each insight) has an owner, who is the person who created this dashboard (resp insight).

The following people (apart from the owner) can modify a dashboard created by a given user:

  • People who have “Moderate dashboards” access to the project (See Main permissions)
  • DSS administrators

Everybody who has “Read dashboards” access to the project can view a dashboard, regardless of who created it: dashboards don’t carry access restrictions. However, by default, dashboards are created in “Private” mode: they do not appear in the lists and homepages of everybody. To view a “Private” dashboard, you need to know its URL. This makes it easy to share dashboards with colleagues by sending them the URL.

People who have “Moderate dashboards” access on the project see all dashboards in the list (even “Private” ones). They are also the ones who can switch a dashboard between “Private” (readable, but not visible in lists) and “Public” (appear on lists and homepages of all readers) states.

Editing the dashboard as an analyst

When you have “Read project content” on the project, you may add every item to the dashboard, not only items which are previously dashboard-authorized.

Each time you add an item to the dashboard (either directly from the item, or from the dashboard), if this object is not already in the dashboard authorizations, you will get a warning that dashboard-only users will not be able to see this insight, since the source is not dashboard-authorized.

  • If you have “Manage dashboard authorizations” access, you’ll get a prompt to add it automatically
  • If you don’t have “Manage dashboard authorizations” access, you’ll only have a warning indicating that you must ask your project administrator